Hemingway Quotes

The following are quotes from Ernest Hemingway’s The Snows of Kilimanjaro, the sixteenth book that I read this year as part of my Goodreads.com challenge.

20130225-073817.jpg

Now he would never write the things that he had saved to write until he knew enough to write them well. Well, he would not have to fail at trying to write them either. Maybe you could never write them, and that was why you put them off and delayed the starting. Well he would never know, now. (p. 2)

“Love is a dunghill,” said Harry. “And I’m the cock that gets on it to crow.” (p. 4)

“All right then. I’ll go on hurting you. It’s more amusing. The only thing I ever really liked to do with you I can’t do now.” (p. 5)

“You don’t have to destroy me. Do you? I’m only a middle-aged woman who loves you and wants to do what you want to do. I’ve been destroyed two or three times already. You wouldn’t want to destroy me again, would you?” “I’d like to destroy you a few times in bed,” he said. “Yes. That’s the good destruction. That’s the way we’re made to be destroyed. The plane will be here tomorrow.” (p. 7)

And just then it occurred to him that he was going to die. It came with a rush; not as a rush of water nor of wind; but of a sudden, evil smelling emptiness and the odd thing was that the hyena slipped lightly along the edge of it. (p. 8)

All right. Now he would not care for death. One thing he had always dreaded was the pain. He could stand pain as well as any man, until it went on too long, and wore him out, but here he had something that had hurt frightfully and just when he had felt it breaking him, the pain had stopped. (p. 13)

I’m getting as bored with dying as with everything else, he thought. (p. 13)

Outside the tent the hyena made the same strange noise that had awakened her. But she did not hear him for the beating of her heart. (p. 15)

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to book, Response to Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

