Shannara’s First and Last

The following is in response to the First King of Shannara and The Wishsong of Shannara, two books by Terry Brooks.

shannara

The Shannara Chronicles is an American fantasy drama television series created by Alfred Gough & Miles Millar. It is an adaptation of the Shannara series of fantasy novels by Terry Brooks, primarily The Elfstones of Shannara. It is filmed in the Auckland Film Studios and on location elsewhere in New Zealand, and premiered on MTV, MTV2, TeenNick and TV Land in the United States on January 5, 2016.

Books eight and nine of my goodreads challenge this year is brought to you by the brilliant fantasy fiction author Terry Brooks. If you like fantasy then you should check out the new Shannara Chronicles series on TV. I haven’t watched every episode that’s out yet, but for what I can tell by the first few that I was seen the story line follows his book The Elfstones of Shannara. Though that wasn’t a book I’ve read this year, I have indeed read it and it is amazing! So check it out my friends of the interwebs; it will not disappoint.

The First King of Shannara is the prequel of the original Shannara series. Though I did enjoy the read, this one did fall a little flat for me compared to the other books I’ve read this year. I think this has to do with the beginning being slightly lacking in characterization and so I didn’t care much about the characters and so the action wasn’t meaningful. With that said, this book did give me a metaphor and a love-triangle that I will always remember. Preia and Jerle are together, but Preia and Tay kind of have a thing for each other. Jerle and Tay and best friends which is what makes it so juicy. Sadly Tay dies and Preia says this to Jerle: “That was a side of Tay Trefenwyd you never saw. You didn’t see it because you didn’t look. He was a complex man, just as you are. Neither of you understood the other as clearly as you thought. You were each the shadow of the other, but as different in some ways as the shadow is from the flesh. I know that difference. I have always known. (252)” “Now you have to face up to it as well. And to what it means to be alive when your shadow is dead. (253)”

If you have seen some of The Shannara Chronicles or read The Elfstones of Shannara, then you might like the last book of the series The Wishsong of Shannara. In this book, the children of Wil and Eretria are destined to save the day with their magical Wishsong abilities. One thing I’d like to point out: on page 253 there is an ominous moment where is seems silence becomes a character—”There were no birds within these trees, no insects. No living creatures of any kind. There was only the silence, deep and pervasive—the silence, itself becoming a living thing in the absence of all other life.”

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

