The Most Anticipated Sequel

The following is in response to Doctor Sleep, a book by Stephen King.

13485074-_sy540_

Doctor Sleep is the third book I read this year. I know the Kingian fandom will rip me a new one for saying this, but I had no idea that there was a sequel to The Shinning, until I came across a copy in a local bookstore. I had been living under a life-focusing, book-neglecting rock. I apologize. But I have seen the light and damn am I glad that I did!

Scrappy little Dan Torrence from The Shinning has all grown up. Following a substance abuse problem, Dan has settled into a small town in New Hampshire where he works at a hospice. With his gift of the shinning, Dan helps the dying move on to their next life and earns himself the nickname Doctor Sleep. Meanwhile a girl, Abra Stone, who shares Dan’s gift is born.

What makes this story so good though are the antagonists. The True Knot is a group of people that can feed off the power of the shinning and live forever, a feeding that kills the victim and releases their shinning as steam. Not to give too much away, Dan ends up having to save Abra and take down Rose, the leader of the true knot. And where else would this showdown take place? Where the overlook hotel once stood. It’s truly an amazing read and I recommend it to anyone who loved The Shinning.

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to book, Response to Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

