A Birthday and A Poem

The following is a poem I wrote today for my mother’s birthday (So, all rights reserved by Evin Hughes and what-not).

Mother holding a hand of her son

Waking up to Mama

It’s the sandman or something like him
Showing me pictures
Snapshots never taken of us
Like when I ran a brush through your hair
Sitting on the floor
Watching Little Bear on the box set
Like when I held your finger
To keep it from falling off
Walking to the Sanitary Market in the afternoon

What posterity has a chance
Without trips to the library
Without peanut butter and jelly sandwiches
Without oatmeal cookies on each finger like edible rings
Without dancing to Time Won’t Give You Time
With the couch pushed back for ample boogieing space?
Not a chance in Hell.

I’m wiping the dust out my eyes
Waking up to Mama
Sixteen hundred miles away

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

