I Dance People

The following is in response to “I Dance People” by Jeroen van Honk via The Quotable.

"I call them dances. I dance a person." ~Excerpt from Jereon Van Honk's "I Dance People"

“I call them dances. I dance a person.”
~Excerpt from Jereon Van Honk’s “I Dance People”

I read Honk’s short as a shadow telling us what it’s like to be a shadow. The shadow, in order to not make the person he’s shadowing suspicious of being shadowed, must learn their movements and then mimic the person so well as to escape their feelings of being followed: “Then of course, people have this sixth sense that pertains to something behind them. They can feel someone stare at them, even from behind. This is one of the hardest things to counter, to master and control. It concerns making your every move effortless, instinctive, unconscious.”

As a writer, you must follow your character around, hiding so naturally within the page that you don’t disturb them so that they act the way that they normally would. You have to dance your characters, follow their movements on the page in an effortless string of words.

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to Fiction, Response to flash prose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

