Island of the Blue Dolphins

island-of-the-blue-dolphins

“The thought of being alone on the island while so many suns rose from the sea and went slowly back into the sea filled my heart with loneliness” (67).

Scott O’Dell’s book “Island of the Blue Dolphins” is a great tale about a young girl who is abandoned for years on a small island with no one to keep her company but the animals that she befriends. Though the book is fiction, O’Dell based the material on a somewhat true story. What I liked about this story and what I didn’t like about this story is that I realized how much trouble I would be in if I were left on an island without my cell phone and internet connection.

Making arrows? Keeping away the wild dogs that killed my little brother? Building canoes and snares for food? I wouldn’t last a day!

I am currently in the process of obtaining a work visa and TEFL certificate so that I can teach English in China forthe Ameson program. After reading this I am thinking, Will I adjust to things overseas? Will I end up a lone island surrounded by a foreign ocean?

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to book, Response to Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Island of the Blue Dolphins

  1. Fefe Nichols says:

    That would be very scary. I haven’t read the book, but she seems like a survivor and I think you would survive in a new place. Enjoy China.

Leave a Reply

