Paranormal(delle) Activity

The following is a paradelle that I wrote for a class. This infamous type of poem was created by Billy Collins.

114434878_Ghost_344209c

“All in all, the house will be the place, the room, the floor, the cool other.”

The lights in the basement flicker on their own.
The lights in the basement flicker on, their own.
All I hear at night is a scratching. Outside my window,
all I hear, at night, is a scratching. Outside my window
I a-flicker all on my own, night-lights scratching in the window
at the basement. Is outside hear? Their?

Footsteps pound the floor in the other room and leave.
Footsteps pound the floor in the other room and leave
muddy footprints. When I am the only one in the house,
muddy foot prints. When I am the only one in the house,
the house prints only one room and steps in the other.
I leave, foot in the muddy foot, when the floor ‘am pound.

When I check these hallways, all the crosses will be upside down.
When I check these hallways, all the crosses will be upside down
in the cool air. I hear whispers: the words, they sound, I guess, out of place.
In the cool air, I hear whispers. The words, they sound, I guess, out of place.
Check out these words: upside down will, hallways whispers crosses,
when I air, all the I, in the place, hear, be, of, the—they sound cool, I guess.

I am in the basement. The one on my own.
I hear these upside down words in footsteps outside, in a window,
at the pound, flicker, footprints of hallways.
I hear the sound is night and only crosses when whispers guess.
I, when they scratching their out muddy air lights, leave, I check.
All in all, the house will be the place, the room, the floor, the cool other.

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

