Catching Fire

The following is in response to Suzanne Collins‘ “Catching Fire,” the second installment in the Hunger Games series.

“I know,” says Greasy Sae. “But you’ve got to go through it to get to the end of it. Better not be late.”
~Excerpt from Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I recently finished reading the second book in the Hunger Games series, and I am happy to say that Collins continues to amaze me. Following the first book of the series, Catching Fire continues with the story of Katniss Everdeen and the rest of the gang in the same present-tense-prose fashion, which effectively creates tension and immediacy in the book.

Several of my friends that had recommended the book to me said they took the series as a flash from the future. I don’t know about that, but I can say that if civilization were to collapse—as in the dark days in the book that lead to the creation of the 12 (13!) districts—then I feel like this series would be a rebellion-guide to overthrow overly controlling governments.

If our civilization collapsed, would the US take over as a dictatorship, taking the Olympics and transforming it into a series of fight-to-the-death games to remind the people of the governments ultimate power? Well if it does, then sign me up for district 13 and give me one of those fancy watches like the one Plutarch has with the secret Mockingjay symbol on it because I want to be a part of the rebellion!

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to book and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

