My Father Stood Loading His Gun

The following is in response to Lucas Dean Fiser’s essay “My Father Stood Loading His Gun” that I read via Pif Magazine, an online literary journal.

This personal anecdote from Fiser’s life is heart-wrenching. It depicts a time in his youth when one of his mother’s dogs, Koda, has become sick–having several unborn, dead puppies stuck inside her—and he and his father must “put her down.” His images of snow and blood do a good job at creating a scene and putting me into the story. The essay feels like a part of a larger work that I would be very interested in reading; I would like to find out more about his father, his father’s relationship with his grandfather, and his relationship with his mother. Did Koda get a doggy funeral?

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to essay and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Father Stood Loading His Gun

  1. Lucas says:

    Thanks for the review, Evin.

Leave a Reply

