Advice from my Muse

The following is in response to Kathy Curto’s essay “Advice from my Muse” that I read via Splash of Red, an online literary journal.

Curto’s essay is a call-to-arms to all writer’s to pick up your pencils and to write. She suggests that “when you try too hard it shows.” I will take from this brilliant and simple essay that idea. If you are forcing yourself to come up with something to write about it will probably read as forced and unnatural. I have been inspired and advised in the best of ways with this essay: to just keep writing.

The essay suggests many different ways to prompt yourself to write: cooking, drinking coffee, eating Cracker Jacks, voting, and observing people. The only suggestion that I would not take Curto up on is wearing red shoes everyday, but that’s only because I don’t own a pair of red shoes. Wait, do I have time to run by the shoe store? I wonder how late they stay open.

About evinhughes

I am a graduate of Georgia Southern University located in Statesboro Georgia. I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and a bachelors in Writing and Linguistics.
This entry was posted in Response to essay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

